Jump to

London Marathon 2014

Senior Training Notes

SWAC road races

Road race rankings

Road race analyses

Grand Prix series of road races

Grand Prix series of fell races

Merseyside Grand Prix of road races

Useful Links

gmap pedometer

Sportsoft results


BUPA Great Run series

London Marathon

Run England

BTR Events, Merseyside


SWAC road race results


Road Running

This page is primarily for Southport Waterloo's road runners. About half the club's membership is made up of senior road runners and they compete in cross country and road relays as well as road races. The club organises a Grand Prix series of road and fell races each year. Many enjoy a social run from Blundellsands to Birkdale along the Sefton Coastal Path on New Year's Day.


The road runners have training sessions on roads, in pinewoods and on the track. See the Training section of the About Us page for details.


(photo shows Terry Handley, Nick Hume and Steve James, the winning Southport Waterloo team in the Pembroke 20 mile race c1985.)

London Marathon

For those people who enter the London Marathon and are unsuccessful in obtaining a place in the open ballot, there is an opportunity to obtain a club entry. Some places are reserved for club entries and Southport Waterloo usually has two or three places available for which a ballot is held. Click here for the club ballot Rules.

The result of the ballot for 2017 places, in order of selection, are:


Talitha Shandley; Phil Bailey; Angela Delaney; Rachel Jacks; Mark Wadmore; Keith Swift; Kate Coupland; Jordan Shandley; David Marsh; Tony Bond; Richard Houghton; Paul Warrington; Carl Pedder; Emma Hopwood; Lee Coupland; Ian Kilshaw; Brian O’Reilly; Nicole Wadmore; Heather Goadsby.


Road Runners' Training Notes

Send any notes to web editor.

SWAC Grand Prix series of road races

Southport 4 Mile race, 2009The Club organises a members-only annual Grand Prix competition linked to performances within a series of local road races. For 2018, 9 events have been selected for inclusion in the Grand Prix. The best 5 positions will be totalled to decide the Grand Prix male and female winners and the male and female veteran category winners.


Club colours must be worn unless race rules / conditions require otherwise eg guide vest.


A mixture of distances is included.


Trophies are presented at the annual awards evening at the end of the year.


The 2018 Grand Prix comprises:


Sunday 4th February Southport Mad Dog 10K
Sunday 4th March St Helens 10K
Sunrday 25th March Liverpool Half Marathon
Sunday 15th April Liverpool Tunnel 10K
Sunday 24th June Penny Lane 10K
Saturday 1st July Southport Half Marathon
Saturday 21st July Crosby park run
Saturday 18th August Southport park run
Sunday 16th Sept English Half Marathon
Sunday 23rd Sept Natterjack Seaside 10K


Grand Prix results tables 2018 |2017 | 2016 | 2015| 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 |2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005

SWAC Grand Prix series of fell races

The Club also organises a members-only annual Grand Prix competition for fell races. The best four results decide the winners.


The 2018 Fell Grand Prix events are:


Saturday 7th April

Pendle Hill Fell Race: includes the Merseyside Fell Running Champs, which you can enter separately on the day

AS - 7.3Km/457m, 2.00 pm

Tuesday 8th May

Mearley Clough: Calfs Head, Worston Nr Clitheroe.

AS - 5.6Km/380m, 7.15 pm

Saturday 26th May

Hutton Roof: Hutton Roof Village Hall, Nr Kirkby Lonsdale.

BM – 11.3Km/397m, 2.30 pm

Saturday 9th June

Weets: Letcliffe park, Barnoldswick.

AS – 8.8km/550m, 11.00 am

Thursday 5th July

Tockholes: Rock Public House, Tockholes.

BS – 9.3km/335m, 7.15 pm

Wednesday 25th July

Harrock Hill: Farmers Arms,Bispham Green, Nr Parbold.

BS – 8.4km/275m, 7.30 pm

Wednesday 8th August

Pilgrims Cross: Sunnybank Social Club, Helmshore.

BM – 9.7Km/336m,  7.15 pm

Monday 27th August

Cilcain Show: St Mary's Church, Cilcain.

AS – 7.4km/392m, 1.00 pm

Junior races are included at Pendle, Hutton Roof, Weets and Cilcain Show. A junior championship will be decided from the best three races from four.


Congratulations to the 2017 champions John Sprackland and Michelle Spencer.


Fell Grand Prix tables 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011

Merseyside Grand Prix series of road races

A Merseyside Grand Prix of road races was introduceed in 2013. Runners don't need to do anything to enter this. Southport Waterloo is registered with the Merseyside GP Co-ordinator - Tim Warn of Penny Lane Striders - and so our runners are automatically included.


The races in the 2018 series are as follows.


Sunday 4th March St Helens 10K
Sunday 6th May Liverpool Spring 10K
Tuesday 8th May Walton Park 5 Miles
Wednesday 6th June Birkenhead Park 5 Miles
Sunday 24th June Penny Lane 10K
Sunday 1st July Southport Half Marathon
Wednesday 11th July Sefton Park 5 Miles
Wednesday 25th Wirral Seaside Run (changed race)
Saturday 1st September Merseyvend Halewood 5K
Sunday 7th October Knowsley Safari Park 10 Miles


The intention is to include a range of distances. Organisers will prefer races organised by Merseyside clubs.

Awards are presented at the end of the season.


Individual & Team Standings

Road race analyses and rankings for Southport Waterloo races and runners

The following statistical analysis have been prepared by Brian Grice. Please let Brian know if you have additional information.

(these rankings discontinued 2017)

Waterloo 15K Rankings

Southport 4 Mile Rankings

Southport 10K Rankings

Preston 10 Rankings

London Marathon Rankings

Harrock Hill Rankings

Winners of SWAC & other Local Races

Kew 5K Rankings

Torchlit 5K Rankings

Winners of Merseyside races


Results from past Southport Waterloo races can also be seen on the Results page.